New Braunfels ISD is proud to announce that 20 students at New Braunfels High School have been recognized in the National Hispanic Recognition Program, the National African American Recognition Program and the National Indigenous Recognition Program.

The group includes 14 National Hispanic Recognition Program recipients, five National African American Recognition Program recipients and one National Indigenous Recognition Program recipient.

The students below earned the following distinctions:

National African American Recognition Program recipients – Rylee Cotton, Maurice Blair,
Jasmyne Lewis, Tyna Purter, Erin Cantu
National Hispanic Recognition Program recipients – Nathalia Moreno, Giuliana DeLuca, Lilly
Gallaga, Edward Niland, Chloe Chapa, Madalyn Arguello, Jacob Garcia, Tristan Kadish, Lily
Alaniz, Oscar Ortiz-Hayakawa, Sophia Perez, Elijah Villegas, Natalia Huckaby, Alicia Azar
National Indigenous Recognition Program recipient – Sunshine Aofia

These students were recognized at the NBISD Board of Trustees Meeting that was held on Monday, Dec. 11, 2023.

The College Board National Recognition Programs award academic honors to underrepresented students. The four national recognition programs include the National African American Recognition Program, National Hispanic Recognition Program, National Indigenous Recognition Program and National Rural and Small Town Recognition Program.

Students who take eligible administrations of the PSAT/NMSQT, PSAT 10, or AP Exams will be considered for awards. Students must also identify as African American, Hispanic American, Indigenous, or attend high school in a rural area or small town.