New Braunfels ISD is accepting applications until February 16 for a place on the ballot for the upcoming Board of Trustees election on May 4, 2024. The positions that will be considered on the May 4th ballot include Single Member District 3 and Single Member District 5.

The Single-Member District 3 position is currently held by President Eric Bergquist, while the Single-Member District 5 position is currently held by Secretary Steve Minus. Districts 3 and 5 each have 3-year terms.

Applications for a place on the ballot should be filed in person, by fax or by email with the Elections Administrator. The office location is the NBISD Administration Building, located at 1000 N Walnut Ave., New Braunfels, TX 78130.

The NBISD Board of Trustees has seven members that include five single-member districts and two at-large positions. In order to qualify to file, applicants must be a U.S. citizen; be 18 years of age or older on the first day of the term to be filled at the election or on the date of appointment; live in the single-member district boundary and have been a resident of NBISD for the past six months; have been a resident of the State of Texas for twelve months; have not been determined by a final judgment of a court exercising probate jurisdiction to be totally mentally incapacitated or partially mentally incapacitated without the right to vote; and have not been finally convicted of a felony from which the person has not been pardoned or otherwise released from the resulting disabilities.

A map of the single-member districts is available online at:
A search by address can be done at:

Interested candidates are also encouraged to reference their voter registration card to verify which NBISD single-member district they reside within.

For more information about the role of a Board Trustee, visit Board Policy BBA (LEGAL) or call (830) 643-5758. 

you might also like