The New Braunfels High School Band has received multiple awards and recognitions within the past week. These achievements are coming off the heels of other recognitions this year, including NBISD’s music program being recognized for the national Best Communities for Music Education designation, and the NBHS Brass Ensemble being selected to perform at the Texas Music Educators Association’s conference and convention.

2023 Mark of Excellence Winners
New Braunfels High School ensembles have been recognized by the Foundation for Music Education. On Friday, September 15, NBISD learned that the NBHS Wind Ensemble was named a Commended Winner for the 2023 Mark of Excellence/National Wind Band Honors program, and NBHS Jazz was named a Commended Winner in the Mark of Excellence/National Jazz Honors program.

The Mark of Excellence project seeks to recognize and award outstanding achievement in performance by bands, choirs and orchestras from entries across the United States.

NBHS Percussion
New Braunfels High School Percussion competed at the Thunder in the Hills Percussion Contest in Dripping Springs on Saturday, September 16. The Unicorns placed 3rd in their division and received the caption award for Outstanding Front Ensemble.

Jazz Honors
New Braunfels High School Jazz participated in auditions for the region band. Of the 13 students participating, seven were selected for the region band and advanced to Area, and two were selected as alternates. NBHS has at least one representative in every section of the Region 12 Jazz Band!

Students who were selected:
Cesar Frias- Rodriguez – 1st alternate, Alto Sax
Wyatt Edwards – 1st Chair, Bari Sax
Daniel Guzman – 1st Chair, Trumpet
Elijah Bello-Perez – 2nd Chair, Trumpet
Megan Escobedo – 2nd Chair, Tenor Trombone
Angel Inchaurregui – 2nd Chair, Bass Trombone
Michael Chapman – 2nd Chair, Drumset
Logan Bachman – 1st Chair, Guitar
Dylan Furman – 1st alternate, Piano

PHOTO CAPTION: From left, Megan Escobedo, Elijah Bello-Perez, Daniel Guzman, Michael Chapman, Angel Inchaurregui, Dylan Furman, Logan Bachman, Wyatt Edwards and Cesar Frias-Rodriguez.