January is School Board Recognition Month and New Braunfels ISD is celebrating its trustees for their dedication and commitment to the district and its students.

The theme of this year’s School Board Recognition Month is Locally Elected, Community Connected, which highlights the connection between school trustees and their communities. School board members are the largest group of locally-elected officials in the state.

Our board members are vital. Their dedication, vision, and commitment shape the future of our schools and students.

The NBISD Board of Trustees will be recognized at the Jan. 8 regular board meeting, and they will be acknowledged on social media throughout the month.

Dan Troxell, executive director of the Texas Association of School Boards, applauded the efforts of volunteer trustees in providing leadership and good governance so that school districts can focus on educating the 5.4 million public schoolchildren in their care.

“Texas school boards are so important because they bring a deep understanding of the needs and aspirations of their local communities to their role,” Troxell said. “Boards lead their districts by providing oversight, setting goals, overseeing the budget, and selecting and evaluating the superintendent. These volunteers serve for the betterment of their communities.”

Board members serving NBISD are:

President – Eric Berquist – District 3

Vice President – Nancy York – District 2

Secretary – Steve Minus – District 5

Trustee – Morgan Renaud – District 1

Trustee – Megan Stratemann-Willis – At-Large

Trustee – Jackie Sanders – District 4

Trustee – Kim Goodwin – At-Large

Learn more about school board service at tasb.org. To learn more about the NBISD Board of Trustees, visit: https://www.nbisd.org/about-nbisd/board-of-trustees/meet-the-board


you might also like