Members of the New Braunfels High School football and tennis teams were recognized during a Jan. 8 school board meeting for earning Academic All State.

These student-athletes have been selected as members of the Texas High School Coaches Association Academic All-State elite, first, second or honorable mention team.

Elite Team
Ian Clark (Tennis)

First Team
Lance Beeghley (Football)

Second Team
Leighton Adams (Football)
Wyatt Buckley (Football)

Honorable Mention
Kaitlyn Sparks (Tennis)
Bruno Haraido (Tennis)
Diego Ontiveros (Tennis)
Boone Partee (Football)
Shane Conder (Football)
Cody Weigo (Football)
Jefrey Guerrero (Football)
Maddox Morkovsky (Football)
Gavin Flores (Football)

To be nominated for Academic All-State, a student must be:

• An athlete, student trainer or manager in good standing with the team
• Of good moral character
• A senior

To make academic all-state, the student-athlete also must have an overall grade point average of 92 or above (including courses from grades 9-11 and courses completed from grade 12).

While the student might initially meet the criteria for nomination, that does not guarantee the student a spot on a team. When reviewing the nominations, the THSCA considers each students’ GPA, class rank, SAT and/or ACT score. The students receive points based on each criteria. The total number of points they receive determines which team they are placed on. The classification of the school is not a factor, and there’s not a limit on how many players can make a team.