The undefeated New Braunfels High School Varsity Tennis team has been crowned as district champions for the 2023-24 season under head coach Micki Clark.

The Unicorns secured the district championship following a 10-1 win over the Steele Knights, locking in the top seed as New Braunfels advances into the Bi-District playoffs. The Unicorns’ opponent in the Bi-District round will be Johnson High School, and those matches will be held on Oct. 10 at Johnson.

The Unicorn district championship team is composed of 18 dedicated players and managers. They are: Chloe Chapa, Ava Clark, Ian Clark, Monica Fuentes, Joshua Gill, Caleb Goodner, Caden Green, Bruno Haraida, Khoal Hetchler, Damien Hill, Kyle Keller, Emil Moreau, Diego Ontiveros, Emma Pruitt, Athena Ramirez, Chance Roberts, Kaitlyn Sparks and Sara Helen Yoe.

The JV Tennis team completed its season on Sept. 28, with a win over Judson, securing the JV Team Tennis District Championship Title. Twenty-two players competed this season at the sub-varsity level.

The team is composed of Berenger Barr, Madelynn Baumbach, Serenity Cabrera, Catherine Clark, Jakob Cooper, Abraham Coronado, Aiden Engelhardt, Sabrina Gaddis, Madelynn Gonzales, Layla Jaramillo, Dakota Johnson, Axel Keller, Tucker Kenley, Jacob Lux, Fischer Marlow, Georgia Mayo, Emily Mitchell, Aralynn Peralez, Skyla Prause, Collin Rodriguez, Tluang Thang and Cade Wilkins.